Open Menu Close Menu Open Search Close Search Open Directory Close Directory

Outstanding Alumni Award

The Outstanding Alumni Award honors alumni for the good name they bring to Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine at Tufts University, the veterinary profession, and the community through their distinguished accomplishments. This award can be given to a person only once.

2019 and 2020 Winners will be announced in December.

Faculty Hall of Fame

Since 2005, the Tufts University Veterinary Alumni Association has solicited nominations from veterinary alumni for induction into the Cummings School Faculty Hall of Fame. This honor was established to recognize faculty members for their outstanding commitment to excellence in teaching. One or more faculty members are inducted annually to recognize, encourage, and maintain the exceptional teaching at Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine. This award can be given to a person only once.


2019 Winner....

Dr. Emily McCobb, DVM, MS, DACVAA (V00)

Dr. McCobb is Clinical Associate Professor of Anesthesiology and also directs the school’s Shelter Medicine Program. Her interests are in stress, pain and quality of life, and in preparing veterinary students to provide excellent anesthesia in general practice. Dr. McCobb received her veterinary degree from Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine at Tufts University in 2000 and completed a rotating internship at Angell Memorial Animal Hospital in 2001. After some time in private practice and obtaining a Masters of Animals and Public Policy, she returned to the Cummings School for a residency in Anesthesiology and Pain Management in 2003. She achieved board certification in 2006 and worked to start the anesthesia and surgery services at Tufts Vets, before joining the faculty of the Cummings School in the anesthesia section and the Center for Animals and Public Policy in 2009.

Liz Rozanski

2020 Winner....

Dr. Elizabeth A. Rozanski, DVM, DACVIM, DACVECC

Growing up outside of Chicago, near the Brookfield Zoo, Dr. Elizabeth Liz Rozanski developed a love for veterinary medicine from age five. As a member of the Foster Hospital for Small Animals’ Emergency and Critical Care team, she treats animals at one of the nation’s busiest academic emergency rooms. She is board-certified in both internal medicine and emergency and critical care. Dr. Rozanski graduated from the University of Illinois with her DVM degree. After completing a residency in Philadelphia, she was drawn to Tufts by the position’s combination of research, teaching, and service. She teaches toxicology and respiratory medicine throughout the four-year Cummings School DVM curriculum, and lectures in others. I love the students, she says. They are a continued source of inspiration and enthusiasm. She has also been involved in student efforts to provide free rabies vaccinations in low-income housing in the City of Worcester, serves as a faculty mentor for summer student research projects, has raised funds for the American Heart Association (with her dog, Brie, named after one of her favorite cases at the Foster Hospital) through the Central Massachusetts Heart Walk, and lectures often at continuing education and community events. She is also the past president of the Veterinary Comparative Respiratory Society. Dr. Rozanski’s primary research interest is in respiratory function in small animals, and she recently co-authored, with the help of fellow faculty member Dr. John Rush, A Color Handbook of Small Animal Emergency and Critical Care Medicine (Manson, 2007). She lives near the school’s Grafton campus with, as she notes, a menagerie of pets—all rescues.

Past Outstanding Alumni Award Recipients:

2018: Dr. Rosalind (Roz) Rolland, V84
2017: Dr. Robert Marini, V84
2016: Dr. Margaret Shively, V84
2015: Dr. John de Jong, A78, V85
2014: Dr. William Rosenblad, V95
2013: Dr. Gregory M. Wolfus, V98
2012: Raimon Duran-Struuck, A98, V02
2011: Dr. David J. McGrath III, V86
2010: Capt. Hugh M. Mainzer, V90
2009: Dr. Fredric L. Cantor, V84
2008: Dr. Gretchen Kaufman, J76, V86
2007: Dr. Jonathan H. Epstein, V02
2006: Dr. Lisa M. Freeman, J86, V91, NG96
2005: Dr. Ann Marie Manning, V93
2004: Dr. Joann Lindenmayer, V85
2003: Dr. Ray Powell, V85
2002: Dr. Michael McGuill, V91
2001: Dr. Mary Labato, V83
2000: Dr. David Malarkey, V89
1999: Dr. Wendy Emerson, V85
1998: Dr. Steven Rowell, V83
1997: Dr. Mark Pokras, V84

Past Faculty Hall of Fame Inductees:

2018: Dr. Cheryl Blaze
2017: Dr. Angie Warner
2016: Dr. Lisa Freeman, J86, V91, NG96
2015: Dr. R. John Berg
2014: Dr. Mark Pokras, V84
2013: Dr. Joyce S. Knoll, Dr. W. Robert Cook
2012: Dr. George P. Looby
2011: Dr. Sawkat Anwer
2010: Dr. Mary Labato, V83
2009: Dr. John E. Rush
2008: Dr. George Saperstein
2008: Dr. Howard Levine
2007: Dr. Lawrence J. Kleine
2006: Dr. Linda A. Ross
2005: Dr. Mary Rose Paradis
2005: Dr. M.S.A. Kumar
2005: Dr. James N. Ross, Jr.
2005: Dr. Harold E. Hammerquist
2005: Dr. Susan M. Cotter